Jump to content

Please Disable Your Adblocker. We have only advertisement way to pay our hosting and other expenses.  

  • entries
    15,071
  • comments
    11
  • views
    296,023

Just Like On WhatsApp, You'll Soon Be Able To 'Unsend' Messages On Facebook Messenger As Well

Sign in to follow this  
ADMIN

13 views

Not long ago, WhatsApp rolled out a feature that let you delete sent messages for a particular time period. This 'unsend message' feature comes in extremely handy when you send the wrong person a text, and end up apologising profusely.

In this case, Facebook could soon be rolling out the "unsend" feature for Messenger, that would allow users to retract sent messages not only from their inboxes but also from the entire chat thread.  

Tech tipster Jan Manchun Wong tweeted screenshots of the feature running in the Android version. Jan dug through the apps update code and came across a new feature addition that indicates there's a 'time limit'- giving users only a certain amount of time after they send a message to unsend it. 

Facebook Messenger is finally working on "Unsend Message" in the app for everyone!

Tip @Techmeme pic.twitter.com/5OtQmyID3

— Jane Manchun Wong (@wongmjane) October 12, 2018

Currently, Messenger users are only able to delete messages from their inbox, though the sender/recipient will be able to see the message in his/her inbox. This feature first came to focus when CEO Mark Zuckerberg was able to delete messages from the inbox of various recipients in April this year. 

When you press and hold on to the message, an 'unsend' button pops up next to 'delete'. The latter option will only remove the message from your end, while the unsend button will ensure that the message is removed from the receiver's end as well. 

You'll Soon Be Able To 'Unsend' Messages On FB© Reuters

On other news, WhatsApp is also bound to get a new update that will alter the time period in which one has to delete sent messages. Currently, messages can be called back within 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds of being sent, WhatsApp will now be extending this time frame to 13 hours, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds.  

LIMITS UPDATED!

WhatsApp has updated the "Recipient limit".
What does it mean? If you delete a message for everyone, but the recipient won't receive the revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s (maybe because the phone was off), the message will **not** be revoked.
..(1/2)

— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) October 11, 2018

According to WABetaInfo, the change is intended to be a protection against modded users that revoke messages sent weeks, months and years ago. 

It is unclear whether the new change has already been implemented for all WhatsApp users or it will take some time to reach the entire WhatsApp user base. 

The same remains the case for Messenger. A timeline on the feature roll-out isn't officially available from Facebook yet, but we expect it to hit the app stores in the coming weeks.

Emraan Hashmi

Sign in to follow this  


0 Comments


Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×