Jump to content

Welcome to Fundayforum. Please register your ID or get login for more access and fun.

Signup  Or  Login

house fdf.png


Captain Marvel Movie 2019

IMDb - 6.3/10 Rotten Tomatoes Description: Captain Marvel gets caught in the middle of a galactic war between two alien races. Initial release: March 8, 2019 (USA) Directors: Anna Boden, Ryan Fleck Budget: 152 million USD Music composed by: Pinar Toprak Screenplay: Anna Boden, Ryan Fleck, Nicole Perlman, Geneva Robertson-Dworet, Meg LeFauve, Liz Flahive, Carly Mensch
Watch and Download

Alita - Battle Angel 2019

IMDb: 7.6/10 Genre : Action, Science Fiction, Thriller, Romance Director : Robert Rodriguez Stars : Rosa Salazar, Christoph Waltz, Ed Skrein, Mahershala Ali, Jennifer Connelly LANGUAGE: Hindi (Cleaned) – English Quality: 720p HD-Camrip PLOT: Six strangers find themselves in a maze of deadly mystery rooms, and must use their wits to survive.
Watch and Download
  • entries
  • comments
  • views

Kings XI Punjab

Sign in to follow this  


Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) has undoubtedly been the most hyped teams in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). But, while the sight of KXIP owner Preity Zinta in the stands has enthralled fans, the same cannot be said about her team's performance on the field.

The Mohali-based franchise has had a rollercoaster ride in the last 11 years of the competition. They made a defining debut under the leadership of Yuvraj Singh in 2008 where the inaugural season saw them winning 10 matches and finishing second in the points table. But, the Kings couldn't follow it up the year later, finishing fifth with seven wins and as many losses.

But, the worst was yet to happen to Punjab. The 2010 edition saw them finishing last in the table with a mere four wins to their name. The next three years saw Punjab finishing at the fifth, sixth and sixth spot respectively. Following a lapse in performance over the seasons, Punjab finally found an opportunity to make amends in the 2014 edition.

KXIP looked in ominous form as they went one opponent past another to win 11 matches alongside just three defeats in 2014. They were tipped as favourites to win the trophy after their spectacular win over a consistent Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the second qualifier. But, the dream of clinching their maiden title eluded Punjab after their three-wicket loss in the final against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

Kings XI Punjab© BCCL

Since then, Punjab never looked like they were going to win the IPL title. After finishing last in both 2015 & 2016 and fifth in 2017, Punjab once again slumped to the bottom last season, securing a seventh-place finish. And, that was probably why spent a staggering Rs 32.50 crore at the 2019 IPL Auctions.

With their core players retained, KXIP roped in Varun Chakaravarthy (Rs 8.4 cr), Sam Curran (Rs 2 cr), Mohammed Shami (Rs 4.8 cr), Prabhsimran Singh (Rs 4.8 cr), Nicolas Pooran (Rs 4.2 cr), Moises Henriques (Rs 1 cr), Hardus Viljoen (Rs 75 lakh), Darshan Nalkande (Rs 30 lakh), Sarfaraz Khan (Rs 25 lakh), Arshdeep Singh (Rs 20 lakh), Agnivesh Ayachi (Rs 20 lakh), Harpreet Brar (Rs 20 lakh) and Murugan Ashwin (Rs 20 lakh).

Going purely by form and reputation, KL Rahul and Chris Gayle are undeniably one of the most feared opening pairs in the competition. Rahul was KXIP's leading run-getter last season, scoring 659 runs wherein 364 runs came in the first six overs at a strike-rate of over 157. But, post Gayle and Rahul at the opening slot, Punjab's batting order looks shaky.

Kings XI Punjab© BCCL

The pace attack is bolstered with Andrew Tye and Mohammed Shami with young Arshdeep Singh also in fray. Tye proved his mettle last season, emerging as their leading wicket-taker with 24 scalps to his name. In the spin-bowling department, skipper Ravichandran Ashwin should be able to aid Punjab, with the likes of Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Varun Chakravarthy also providing assistance.

Punjab might have splurged cash in a bid to revamp their squad, but the team still looks weak in noticeable areas, largely owing to their uncertain overseas combination which might extend their misery this season.

Squad: Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh, Murugan Ashwin, Agnivesh Ayachi, Sam Curran, Chris Gayle, Harpreet Brar, Moises Henriques, Mohammed Shami, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Karun Nair, Darshan Nalkande, Nicholas Pooran, Lokesh Rahul (wk), Ankit Rajpoot, Simran Singh, Andrew Tye, Varun Chakravarthy, Hardus Viljoen.

Sign in to follow this  


Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now