Jump to content

Welcome to Fundayforum. Please register your ID or get login for more access and fun.

Signup  Or  Login

house fdf.png


Captain Marvel Movie 2019

IMDb - 6.3/10 Rotten Tomatoes Description: Captain Marvel gets caught in the middle of a galactic war between two alien races. Initial release: March 8, 2019 (USA) Directors: Anna Boden, Ryan Fleck Budget: 152 million USD Music composed by: Pinar Toprak Screenplay: Anna Boden, Ryan Fleck, Nicole Perlman, Geneva Robertson-Dworet, Meg LeFauve, Liz Flahive, Carly Mensch
Watch and Download

Alita - Battle Angel 2019

IMDb: 7.6/10 Genre : Action, Science Fiction, Thriller, Romance Director : Robert Rodriguez Stars : Rosa Salazar, Christoph Waltz, Ed Skrein, Mahershala Ali, Jennifer Connelly LANGUAGE: Hindi (Cleaned) – English Quality: 720p HD-Camrip PLOT: Six strangers find themselves in a maze of deadly mystery rooms, and must use their wits to survive.
Watch and Download
  • entries
  • comments
  • views

Chennai Super Kings

Sign in to follow this  


One of the most popular and celebrated T20 franchises across the globe, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) needs no introduction in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The yellow brigade began their journey with a runners-up finish in the inaugural edition of the tournament. The next edition saw them reaching the Play-offs, but a title triumph was still nowhere in sight.

Their hunt for the elusive IPL title finally came to an end in 2010 when they defeated Mumbai Indians (MI) by 22 runs at the DY Patil stadium. The following year saw MS Dhoni-led brigade doubling their IPL title count as they broke the hearts of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) fans after securing a 58-run win in the summit clash.

With two titles in as many years, Chennai looked unstoppable when they reached the IPL final in 2012. But, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) denied Chennai a hat-trick of IPL titles after defeating them by five-wickets at the MA Chidambaram stadium. The 2013 & 2015 editions saw Chennai reaching the final, but, on both occasions, a triumphant Mumbai extended their wait for a third title.

If heartbreaks in the finals weren't enough, Chennai reached an all-time low after getting suspended for two years in lieu of the spot-fixing scandal. But, for a team that saw their arch-rivals, Mumbai extend their IPL title triumphs to three in 2017, Chennai made a roaring comeback last season, getting the better of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Wankhede stadium.

Chennai Super Kings© BCCL

In a bid to successfully defend their title this season, Chennai shelled out Rs 5.2 crore at the 2019 IPL Auctions. With their core already players retained, Chennai was probably the least active franchise at the auctions, securing the services of just two cricketers - Mohit Sharma (Rs 5 cr) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (Rs 20 lakh).

In Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson and Suresh Raina, Chennai undoubtedly have one of the most reliable top-orders in the competition. Watson had the opposition bowlers running for cover last season, slamming 555 runs at an average of 39.64. It was the flying starts given by their openers that allowed Chennai to go past 200-run total on four occasions - most by any team last season.

The middle-order appears as solid as their top, with the likes of Ambati Rayudu, Dhoni and Dwayne Bravo bolstering them. Rayudu, in particular, looked in ominous form last season, scoring 602 runs in 16 matches at a healthy average of 43. He also had a hundred and three fifties to his name last season.

Chennai Super Kings© BCCL

The likes of Mohit Sharma, Lungi Ngidi, Shardul Thakur, David Willey and Deepak Chahar look potent to add teeth to their pace attack, while the all-round options in Watson and Bravo should cover for them as a contingency plan in the middle. Chennai also have some options in the spin-bowling department, with Imran Tahir, Ravindra Jadeja and Karn Sharma in fray.

For a team that was mocked for signing old-aged players last season, Chennai made the critics eat their own words by pulling off a dream title-winning comeback. And, going into the twelfth edition, Chennai will be eager to carry on their winning momentum as they chase a record fourth title this year.

Squad: MS Dhoni (c/wk), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Faf du Plessis, Harbhajan Singh, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Lungi Ngidi, Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sam Billings, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Narayan Jagadeesan, Mitchell Santner, Mohit Sharma, Shardul Thakur, David Willey.

Sign in to follow this  


Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now