Even after Shaun Marsh's absolute beauty of a performance, the heroics of Indian cricket team's captain, Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni along with the crucial role played by wicketkeeper and batsman, Dinesh Kartik proved to be too much for the Aussies to handle as India won the second ODI to tie the series at 1-1.
While Kohli's 39th career ODI century was more of a necessity than an occasion for celebration, it was Dhoni who played like he once used to, during his prime, and put on a show to stun critics both overseas and here in India who were sceptical of the inclusion of the former skipper in the ODI roster for the series Down Under and the speculations of him being a part of the 2019 ICC World Cup team instead of Rishabh Pant, as he ended the match in a great fashion with a six to tie the game and then a single to seal the victory in the final over.
It all seemed to be just like any other classic win for the Men in Blue until a video of MS Dhoni taking, what is called a 'short-run', popped up on the ever-so-resourceful internet.
Did anyone notice that dhoni actually didn't complete the run here? pic.twitter.com/F9KjKiFILc— neich (@neicho32) January 15, 2019
In the video, it appears as if the batsman walked across the pitch for a single but didn't touch the crease with his bat to complete the run. According to the 'Laws of Cricket' (1744) the rule to complete a 'run' requires for the batsman to touch the crease or the area behind the line. If the batsman fails to do so, the run does not count.
"If either umpire considers that one or both batsmen deliberately ran short at that umpire's end, the umpire concerned shall, when the ball is dead, call and signal Short run and inform the other umpire of what has occurred,” reads the ICC rulebook. If the umpires feel that the short-run taken by the player is deliberate, they are entitled to tax the offender's team of five runs as penalty.
Although, the suspected short-run taken by Dhoni looks completely nonintentional, it could have had some serious consequences, getting him run-out had the bowler realised, being one of them.
Run out chance missed!— Sameer Kumar Bhoi (@ImSKBhoi) January 16, 2019
But, somehow, the on-ground umpires and even the third umpire missed the short-run completely and gave the run to Dhoni.
It's the small things that matter, isn't it?