Jump to content

Please Disable Your Adblocker. We have only advertisement way to pay our hosting and other expenses.  

  • entries
    16,181
  • comments
    11
  • views
    302,810

Indian Cricketer Ambati Rayudu's 'Bhatta' Balls Are Confusing The Umpires

During ODI match one of three between India and Australia, our boys were taken aback by the bowling of the first-timer Jason Behrendorff, who had earlier joked about taking a wicket in his first ODI over and eventually realised it by sending Shikhar Dhawan packing for an LBW in his first over itself. 

However, Behrendorff wasn't the only bowler who took the world by surprise that day. Making a comeback to the Indian roster for the ODI series Down Under, the 33-year-old, Ambati Rayudu was given two overs to bowl during India's fielding, in which Rayudu gave up 13 runs without any extras or wickets. Sounds like any other average rotational bowler, right?

But from the first ball Rayudu delivered, there was something seemingly 'off' about his bowling action which caught umpires Michael Gough's and Richard Kettleborough's attention almost instantly. Even the Aussie commentators found themselves being amazed by the right-arm bowler's action and promptly compared it to that of the Sri Lankan legend Muttiah Muralitharan. 

However, after the match got over, the match officials' report to the Indian staffers showed concerns about the off-spinner's bowling action. 

BREAKING NEWS: India's Ambati Rayudu has been reported for a suspect bowling action after the first #AUSvIND ODI. He is to undergo testing within 14 days.

â¡ï¸ https://t.co/oYme344WaJ pic.twitter.com/nJWMTkzTCb

— ICC (@ICC) January 13, 2019

"Rayudu's bowling action will now be scrutinised further under the ICC process relating to suspected illegal bowling actions reported in Tests, ODIs and T20Is,” reads an ICC statement.

 “He is required to undergo testing within 14 days, and, during this period, Rayudu is permitted to continue bowling in international cricket until the results of the testing are known.”

There seems of be a non-spoken agreement amongst the cricketing fans from all over the world towards the illegality of Rayudu's bowling action:

I am not surprised, he looked like thrown darts even on the small highliht package where I saw him bowl 3 ballsð
Kohli needs to have Jadhav in playing 11, he is a stroong finisher and good 6th bowlerð

— anuradha_dighe (@anuradha_dighe) January 13, 2019

Yeah. Had a eerie feeling that this was on the cards when he was bowling & his action was being shown in slow-mo, front-on. To the naked eye, it was clear that not all was Ok with the arm.

— Moinak Das (@d_moinak) January 13, 2019

I thought it, when he was bowling, that it seems to be illegal

— Mandvee Mishra (@im_mandvee) January 13, 2019

According to the 'Laws of Cricket' which was drafted in 1744, a bowler is not to extend his bowling arm during a delivery and in order to gain velocity, he or she must only use the rotation of their shoulder. Throwing the ball is not allowed and will be considered a no ball if the umpire deems it illegal.

Sign in to follow this  


0 Comments


Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×